Bright Prospect awarded 106 college students scholarships totaling $206,000 thanks to a generous grant from the College Access Foundation of California.  The scholarships ranged from $500 to $5,000 and helped Bright Prospect’s college students cover expenses such as books, health insurance, winter clothing and other necessary expenses.  52 of the scholarships were applied to the reduction of student loans that were over $5,000. A sophomore at UC Riverside wrote to Bright Prospect: “In awarding me with this scholarship you have eased my own future financial burden and have lessened my parents’ worries regarding the amount of loans I’m currently receiving. I am incredibly fortunate to have the support of the entire Bright Prospect staff. Receiving this scholarship has given me more incentives to finish my college career and give back to my community.” 86 of the Bright Prospect scholarship recipients are from high schools in the Pomona Unified School District.  These students are attending the following 31 colleges and universities: Barnard, Bates, Beloit, Bowdoin, Bryn Mawr, Cal Poly Pomona, Cal State LA, Chaffey College, Citrus College, College of the Holy Cross, Consumnes River College, CSU East Bay, CSU Fullerton, CSU Long Beach, Franklin & Marshall, Grinnell, Humboldt State, Lewis & Clark, Mt. San Antonio College, Occidental, Scripps, Smith, UC Berkeley, UC Davis, UC Irvine, UCLA, UC Riverside, UC Santa Barbara, UC Santa Cruz, University of La Verne, and University of Southern California.

